college football

Heisman Trophy history: three quarterbacks of color

Does this mean black quarterbacks are finally getting the respect they deserve?

When the announcement was made of the finalists for the 2018 Heisman Trophy, history was made as well. For the first time in 84 years, the top three vote-getters are quarterbacks of color: Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray, Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa and Ohio State’s Dwayne Haskins. Does this mean black quarterbacks are receiving the respect they are due?

The winner of the award will be announced Saturday in New York City.